Apple TV or Amazon Firestick?

MAF260

Discuss...

I'm not bothering with Sky etc at my new place as I just don't watch TV enough to justify it and can also use the Sky Go+ subscription I have at my other house if I need it.

I don't have a smart TV here yet either, just a decent HDTV, so am considering one of the above to enhance my viewing pleasure. Trouble is I have no knowledge or experience of either and so am putting it to my forum friends (and Benny) to educate me and guide my purchase. I have a iphone and ipad if that helps to inform.

highlander

If we did not have a smart TV mark it would be either fire or Google sticks from the reviews I've seen and heard. Both are cheap enough to buy, try and throw if pants........Apple TV, like all thing Apple, is overrated IMO.

allandwf

Mrs allandwf has an apple TV box, she uses it mainly for Netflix, seems to work well, only drawback is if you don't have other apple stuff, like me, you need iTunes loaded on something to access it. We have had to do this once after a power cut or surge . It required a reset. It was a pain, but other than that it seems to work well.

rockits

I have Netflix and access to Amazon Prime through various means. If your TV isn't smart then it might not have mirror tech that you can stream video from your iPad etc. I do have a Roku 3 box which is great to access catch up TV & Netflix....also Spotify. Doesn't do Amazon video though I don't think. The Roku 3 does have mirrorcast though so you could use that to stream anything from your phone or tablet.

Does an Amazon Firestick do Netflix & Spotify?

The Netflix & Spotify are £10 per month each but the kids use it as well. I guess as much as it pains me to say it Amazon Prime/video is pretty good value at £59 for the year.

wink